About ChessCafe.com

ChessCafe.com is one of the most highly acclaimed and frequented chess sites on the world wide web. New material is presented at least twice weekly throughout the month.

If you want to quickly find newly published material, simply click the link for the ChessCafe.com RSS Feed at the top of our home page. All the articles, reviews, and endgame studies that have appeared at ChessCafe.com are available in the ChessCafe.com Archives.

ChessCafe.com is freely accessible, and you can help keep it so by making a purchase at our chess shop. We offer a large selection of chess books and equipment at very competitive prices. ChessCafe.com also has a weekly newsletter with which you can keep up-to-date with new product releases, read reviews of selected products, and receive special discount offers. Plus, try your hand at solving our weekly puzzle.

4 thoughts on “About ChessCafe.com

  1. Oliver

    I was looking at Dvoretsky/Yusupov’s Technique for the tournament player. I have been looking at various positions with 7 man TB. On page 126. of the Batsford edition regarding knight solo, Diagram #7, Dvoretsky gives it as a position of mutual zugzwang, but the 7 man TB confirms that white wins regardless of who is to move. Knight f5 is given as the first move for white.

    Reply
  2. Edward Alexander

    I’ve been playing chess for a few years & recently came across a problem. I may be missing something but here’s the problem:
    Setup:
    Black: King at G3
    Bishop at F3
    Knight at D5
    Rook at C7
    White: King at D6
    Rook at B3
    Pawn at H5
    History:
    Black’s bishop moved into position to block the check on the Black King, from White’s Rook (at B3)
    Question is: Can White’s King capture Black’s Knight (at D5)?

    Arguments:
    White claims that just as the Bishop cannot move to capture any (other) piece in it’s lines of attack, while it is protecting the King, there would be no threat to the White King (and thus any check would be effectively ‘deactivated’, the White King can capture the Black Knight with impunity.
    Black’s is that the Bishop’s attack and threat(s) are always in effect.
    Can you please cite any official rules relating to the above if possible.
    OR direct me to someone who might be able to answer this debate! Sincerely… Thank you!
    ‘We’ eagerly await your response!! Edward

    Reply
    1. chesscafe Post author

      Thank you for your message. Article 1 of the FIDE Handbook states “Leaving one’s own king under attack, exposing one’s own king to attack and also ’capturing’ the opponent’s king are not allowed.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


five − = 3

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>